Support home >>Domain Administrator's Help >>Adding a User Account

Adding a User Account

To begin adding a user account, click on Add User from the Email Accounts page. When you do so, you will be presented with a page that contains the items below. When the items are set to the values you want, click on the Save button to finish adding the user.

Note: Many of these values, especially those in Display Settings and Compose Settings, can be left at the defaults when adding a new user account, as they are better set by the user. They are included in the Add User page so you may edit them if you wish, however.

User Information

Username - The email address (e.g. "user" in

Full Name - Enter the name of the person using the email account.

Disable this user - This will completely disable this user, but the account is not deleted. The user will not be able to log in, send or receive email for this account until you reactivate it.

Domain administrator - If this option is checked, the user will have full domain administrator privileges, including the ability to add and edit users.

Mailbox size - This box allows you to set the maximum mailbox size for the account you are adding.

Reply-to address - Enter an alternate reply address you wish to use. This will be the default reply to address for mail sent from this account.

Forwarding address - Enter an address to forward every inbound email message to. For example, if your mobile phone has an email account and you will be away from your computer for a few days, enter the mobile phone's email address here to forward email to it. You can only forward to a single email address. If you need to send to multiple addresses, you must use an alias.

Forwarding exclusions - If you wish to limit what emails are sent as forwards, you may choose to do so with this option to avoid forwarding spam.

Delete message on forward - Check this box to delete the message from the inbox of the original email account after forwarding it to another email address.

Signature - Add text to this area for a 'signature' that will display at the bottom of each email message that is composed in the web interface.


New password - Enter a password for the email account

Confirm password - In order to ensure you typed the new password correctly, enter it again in this space

Lock password - This option 'locks' the password for end users. If this option is checked the user will not be able to change their password.

Display Settings

Sort messages by - When viewing messages in a folder, they will be sorted in the order chosen in this field. By default, messages are sorted by date in descending order.

Sort folders by - When viewing the manage folders page, folders will be sorted in this order.

Messages per page - When viewing the messages in a folder, this option lets you customize how many emails will appear per page.

Message list refresh rate - If this box has something besides Never chosen, the page that shows messages in a folder will automatically refresh after the chosen number of minutes.

Display messages as - While a user can choose to view a message in plain text or HTML while reading it, this option will allow you to choose the default viewing method.

  • Plain Text - This option will only display text. While it is less interesting (no fonts, images, etc), it is also much more secure and is faster to view than HTML.
  • HTML - This option will display HTML content if present in the email. This content can include stylistic elements, like fonts or colors, as well as hyperlinks and other formatting elements.

When messages are deleted - Choose what happens to messages when they are deleted. The options are outlined below. For more information about deleted items, refer to the topic Deleting Messages.

  • Move to deleted items folder - Deleted items will appear in the deleted items folder, which will need to regularly be emptied manually
  • Delete message and purge folder - Remove the message and get rid of any other email messages that are marked for deletion
  • Mark as deleted - Does not actually delete the message. Flags the message for deletion, and it will not get removed until the folder is purged
  • Mark as deleted and hide - Does the same thing as "Mark as deleted" above. Be careful to monitor your disk space usage when using this option, as it may fill up with what appears to be a small number of messages

Enable hover bar in tables - In some browsers, the hover bar may take up too many resources. Disabling this option will still allow the user to click on rows to edit items and view email, but will not show the hover bar.

Compose Settings

Spell check dictionary - Choose from any of the dictionaries that the administrator has installed on the server

Compose messages as - Choose the method of email composing that the user is to use.

  • Plain Text - Use this for a simple method of email editing. The user will not be able to change colors or fonts, but the emails will generally be much smaller and readable on more email clients
  • HTML - Use this option if you wish to add stylistic elements to your user's emails

Compose window size - Choose the edit window size from this drop down that best works with the user's browser. Recommended is small for resolutions smaller than or equal to 800x600, medium for 1024x768, and large for resolutions equal to or higher than 1280x1024.

Forwarding method - There are several methods by which a message can be forwarded. Please see the list below to understand each of them.

  • Normal - Includes original content, including font styles from original message, as part of the new message
  • Plain text only - Inserts the plain text version of the original message into the new message. This is useful if you want to exclude links or fonts.
  • Embed as attachment - Attaches the original message to the new one. The message will not appear in the body of your message.

Reply header type - Choose whether to include a shortened basic header in email replies, or the full header instead. For most users, basic headers will be sufficient.

Reply indicator - If your compose method is plain text, this character will get added to each line of the original message in order to distinguish it.

Include previous replies in reply - If checked, the message you are replying to will get embedded in the new message.

Save copy of replies in Sent Items folder - If checked, all messages you send from the web interface will get saved in the Sent Items folder. If the user send many messages, they may need to regularly delete items from the sent items folder.