Support home >>User's General Mail Settings >>My Settings

My Settings

The options in the My Settings page allow you to customize your email settings. No changes are saved until you click on the Save button. The options are each explained below.

User Information

Username - Your email address as it should be entered in email clients to get your email

Full name - Your full name will be included in the From field of emails

Reply-to address - If you wish to have replies to your emails sent to a different email address, enter it here

Forwarding address - If you wish to send copies of all incoming mail to a different email address, enter it here. For example, if your mobile phone has an email account and you will be away from your computer, enter the mobile phone's email address here to recieve the emails on your mobile phone. You can only forward to a single email address. If you need to send to multiple addresses, have your domain administrator create a user alias for you

Forwarding exclusions - If you wish to limit what emails are sent as forwards, you may choose to do so with this option to avoid forwarding spam.

Delete message on forward - Check this box to delete the message from the inbox of the original email account after forwarding it to the new email address

Signature - Add text to this area for a 'signature' that will display at the bottom of each email message that is composed in the web interface.


Password - This field is replaced with *'s in order to protect your password. It is shown so that people do not feel that their password must be changed when they get to this screen

New password - If you wish to change your password, enter a new password in the space provided

Confirm password - In order to ensure you typed your new password correctly, enter it again in this space

Note: If you do not wish to change your password, you may leave the password fields blank.

Display Settings

Sort messages by - When viewing the messages in a folder, they will be sorted according to the option chosen in this drop down. By default, messages are sorted by date in decending order.

Sort folders by - When viewing the manage folders page, folders will be sorted in this order.

Messages per page - When viewing the messages in a folder, this option lets you customize how many emails will appear per page.

Message list refresh rate - If this box has something besides Never chosen, the page that shows messages in a folder will automatically refresh after the chosen number of minutes.

Display messages as - While you can choose to view a message in plain text or HTML while reading it, this option will allow you to choose the default viewing method.

  • Plain Text - This option will only display text. While it is less interesting (no fonts, images, etc), it is also much more secure and is faster to view than HTML.
  • HTML - This option will display HTML content, if present in the email. This content can include stylistic elements, like fonts or colors, as well as hyperlinks and other formatting elements.

When messages are deleted - Choose what happens to messages when they are deleted. The options are outlined below. For more information about deleted items, refer to the topic Deleting Messages.

  • Move to deleted items folder - Deleted items will appear in the deleted items folder, which will need to regularly be emptied manually
  • Delete message and purge folder - Remove the message and get rid of any other email messages that are marked for deletion
  • Mark as deleted - Does not actually delete the message. Flags the message for deletion, and it will not get removed until the folder is purged
  • Mark as deleted and hide - Does the same thing as "Mark as deleted" above. Be careful to monitor your disk space usage when using this option, as it may fill up with what appears to be a small number of messages

Enable hover bar in tables - In some browsers, the hover bar may take up too many resources. Disabling this option will still allow you to click on rows to edit items and view email, but will not show the hover bar.

Compose Settings

Spell check dictionary - Choose from any of the dictionaries that the administrator has installed on the server

Compose messages as - Choose the method of email composing that you would like to use.

  • Plain Text - Use this for a simple method of email editing. You will not be able to change colors or fonts, but your emails will generally be much smaller and readable on more email clients
  • HTML - Use this option if you wish to add stylistic elements to your emails

Text Encoding - Choose the encoding that you wish to use for outgoing messages. Encodings define what character sets are used in messages you compose through the web interface.

Compose window size - Choose the edit window size from this drop down that best works with your browser. Recommended is small for resolutions smaller than or equal to 800x600, medium for 1024x768, and large for resolutions equal to or higher than 1280x1024.

Forwarding method - There are several methods by which a message can be forwarded. Please see the list below to understand each of them.

  • Normal - Includes original content, including font styles from original message, as part of the new message
  • Plain text only - Inserts the plain text version of the original message into the new message. This is useful if you want to exclude links or fonts.
  • Embed as attachment - Attaches the original message to the new one. The message will not appear in the body of your message.

Reply header type - Choose whether to include a shortened basic header in your replies, or the full header instead. For most users, basic headers will be sufficient.

Reply indicator - If your compose method is plain text, this character will get added to each line of the original message in order to distinguish it.

Include previous replies in reply - If checked, the message you are replying to will get embedded in the new message.

Save copy of replies in Sent Items folder - If checked, all messages you send from the web interface will get saved in the Sent Items folder. If you send many messages, you may need to regularly delete items from the sent items folder.